Topic Title: Clandon Park House - Fire Report
Topic Summary:
Created On: 26 November 2015 04:10 pm
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 26 November 2015 04:10 pm
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

colingwalker

This may seem a bit off topic and i'd also declare that i have an interest in a possible solution to prevent this type of incident.

National Trust - Clandon Fire Report Published

Clandon Park House - Fire Investigation Report

The Fire Report for the devastating fire that destroyed 95% of the Grade 1 listed building - Clandon Park House has been prepared by Group Manager Bryn Strudwick and published by Surrey Fire and Rescue Service. According to the report the probable cause was a resistive heating fault on a neutral bar in a metal distribution board.

As a Fire safety Professional my interest is that one of the comments within the report states that a 20 - 25 year old MEM Distribution Board was the source of ignition and the fault was probably there since it was installed from new. The source of ignition was pinpointed to a connection on the neutral bar and over the years the fault had not been detected by professional electricians.

I am aware that there is a wiring regulation change which comes into effect from 1 January 2016 which requires consumer units to be of metal construction. From the report I also see that over time heat was generated from the fault causing combustible material to ignite.

Recently I listened to a presentation from a Part P certification body that stated because all the combustible material had now been removed by using metal boards within dwellings there was no chance of a fire.