Increase font size
Topic Title: DC Cabling
Topic Summary: Colour discussions
Created On: 31 March 2011 11:03 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 31 March 2011 11:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

johnnymoore

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to the electrical field & recently received a memo informing me that we have been using incorrect DC cabling colours. Can anyone shed any light on this?

I have been using Red for +, Blue for - & black for any necessary midpoints. Today I was told this has been changed to IEE rules, using brown and grey. Some other's have been using brown & blue for <48VDC (think this is completely wrong though)

I personally find this a bit odd as it then doesn't really help distinguish AC phases & DC when fault finding.

Any comments on this?

Thanks,

Johnny
 01 April 2011 12:01 AM

Paul1966

Unfortunately, the new standard in BS7671 messed about with the coding for d.c. as well as a.c. wiring.

Under the "harmonized" system for d.c., blue is used for the earthed conductor, whether 2-wire or 3-wire, with brown for positive and gray for negative.

So a 2-wire negative-earth circuit will be brown & blue, a 2-wire positive-earth circuit will be gray & blue, and a 2-wire circuit with neither pole earthed will be brown & gray.

For 3-wire, it's brown positive, gray negative, and blue for middle wire (whether earthed or not).

It's a horrible mess, isn't it?

Edited for slip of fingers last night!

Edited: 01 April 2011 at 09:49 AM by Paul1966
 01 April 2011 05:58 AM

broadgage

The new colours for DC are indeed silly, perhaps even more so than the new 3 phase colours.
Not certain what colour is meant to be used for a non earthed center tap on a DC supply. AFAIK blue is only permitted for the earthed neutral of a DC supply, whether this be positive, negative, or a center tap.