IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Upgrading to 30 Amps.
Topic Summary: How we used to do it.
Created On: 27 March 2019 02:19 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 27 March 2019 02:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Zoomup

Posts: 6117
Joined: 20 February 2014

 27 March 2019 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



broadgage

Posts: 3170
Joined: 07 August 2007

I can remember service fuses of 20 or 25 amps, with sub circuits limited to 5 amps each, more than enough for a council house.

"if anyone needs more than 20 amps, then they don't deserve a council house !"

And just about within living memory, there were 10 amp services at 110 volts !
 27 March 2019 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mapj1

Posts: 12039
Joined: 22 July 2004

the film is1964 , by then the new 13A sockets were well established, and rings, admittedly using imperial cable szes, but PVC. No earth on lights for another 5 years mind you. Plenty from that era still doing sterling service.
The hot wire company fuses at 20 A will be a pre-war throwback. Probabaly a few from that era still in use as well, DNO kit changes more slowly..

-------------------------
regards Mike
Statistics

New here?

  • To participate in discussions, please log in and introduce yourself.

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2019 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

 
..