IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Dimming from multiple locations
Topic Summary: A bit stumped
Created On: 30 January 2019 02:25 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 30 January 2019 02:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 4053
Joined: 09 September 2005

Hi guys. After some advice if possible please.

I have been asked to replace some mk grid dimmer switches with standard switches. What should have been a simple job has turned into a right pain in the backside.

The existing switches don't appear to be dimmers, you hold the switch down and it dims and vice versa, it just springs back to up position. The same lights can be switched or dimmed this way from several locations, however the switching is not wired as standard 2 way, there is literally a live feed and switched live at each switch. There are lots of other cables in the boxes with 3 cores and spare cores everywhere but the actual switches just use the 2 cores.

I was hoping that the 3 cores would just need rejigging to sort it out but one of the 'strappers as i thought' isn't continuous.

I have had a think about it since i got back, i am thinking that there must be some sort of dimming module in the ceiling somewhere that these switches operate from multiple locations, does that sound feasible. Do they do such a beast. The grids are MK swiches i have been searching the mk catalogue to look at their dimmers and can't see anything like it. It has occurred to me that it is probably MK switches switching another make of dimmer.

I haven't come across this sort of stuff before so a bit confused. The installation is about 10 years old.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 30 January 2019 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Delbot321

Posts: 198
Joined: 06 November 2012

Sound to me like a standard "switch-dim" set up, often referred to as "retractive" dimming as the push button switches are retractive switches.

Basically every "switch-dim" light has a dimmer built into the LED control gear. It is not like the old fashion dimmers that were usually at the switch.

As you've already said the lights use a short pulse from a push-to-make switch to turn them on and off. If you push and hold the lights cycle through the dimming up-down-up-down until you release and that's the brightness level they remain. A short push and they switch on/off etc but retain the same brightness level

If you want switches at multiple positions then just parallel up the push to make contact no need for strappers and all that.

Be aware that there is a permanent live to every fitting even when they are off. The push switch tells the in-built controller to switch on/dim etc.

Hope this helps
 30 January 2019 02:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



burn

Posts: 328
Joined: 06 June 2003

Or there's a commercial type Lighting Control Module hidden somewhere

burn
 30 January 2019 03:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mapj1

Posts: 12039
Joined: 22 July 2004

And the thing to replace it with if the wiribg is done is the same sort of unit, also available on a normal switch front.

-------------------------
regards Mike
 30 January 2019 03:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 4053
Joined: 09 September 2005

Thank you guys.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 30 January 2019 05:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Weirdbeard2

Posts: 753
Joined: 29 November 2017

Hi Gary do the dimmer modules have any markings on them? It might be a master switch and slave grid switches as described by Alancapon in this topic? :

http://www2.theiet.org/forums/...tid=205&threadid=49620
 30 January 2019 06:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



alanblaby

Posts: 868
Joined: 09 March 2012

Originally posted by: burn

Or there's a commercial type Lighting Control Module hidden somewhere
burn


Exactly. I've fitted loads of these for offices over the years.
Nearly always CP Electronics modules, and their associated sensors, with MK retractive switches.
Loads of different set-ups are available, manual dimming, auto dimming to keep a set Lux level etc.

https://www.cpelectronics.co.uk/energy-saving-products/lighting-control-systems/rapid/pluggable-lcms
Statistics

New here?

  • To participate in discussions, please log in and introduce yourself.

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2021 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

 
..